Feb 14, 2013; Boulder, CO, USA; Colorado Buffaloes fans hold newspapers and a cutout of Colorado Buffaloes head coach Tad Boyle in the first half of the game against the Arizona Wildcats at the Coors Events Center. Mandatory Credit: Ron Chenoy-USA TODAY Sports

2013-2014 Men's Basketball Schedule Released


The Colorado Men’s Basketball 2013-2014 schedule was released yesterday by SID Andrew Green on cubuffs.com.

According to Green, Colorado will have multiple games broadcast on the Pac-12 Networks (14), the ESPN family of networks (11), and Fox Sports 1 (3).

From the CU press release:

The 2013-2014 Pac-12 Conference basketball television package features 221 men’s contests telecast to national and regional audiences, Commissioner Larry Scott announced Tuesday.

The Pac-12 men’s basketball package includes 150 games aired on the Pac-12 Networks, 45 on ESPN/ESPN2/ESPNU, 25 games on Fox Sports 1 (including the Pac-12 Tournament championship game), and one nationally on CBS. Additional appearances will be made through other conference television agreements and various in-season tournaments.

“The Pac-12 is going to be much improved this year,” said CU head coach Tad Boyle. “There’s a lot of good players returning and a lot of good freshmen coming into the league. We’re going to be a five, six-team NCAA Tournament league.”

Every Pac-12 home contest will be televised during the 2013-14 season. The attractive non-conference Pac-12 home slate includes games against potential preseason Top-25 picks Marquette, Kansas, Connecticut, as well as last year’s postseason participants UNLV, Illinois, Alabama, Harvard, Long Beach State, and Brigham Young.

The University of Colorado men’s basketball team will be featured on the Pac-12 Network 14 times, the ESPN family of networks 11 times, and another three times on Fox Sports 1. The conference office also released game times and television games to the non-conference slate as well. CU has three games on the schedule with game and TV times yet to be determined (Nov. 8: vs. Baylor at Dallas; Nov. 30 at Air Force; Dec. 3 at Colorado State). 

“I don’t know if I can quantify non-conference schedules, but we have challenged ourselves,” Boyle said. “We’re going to play the top three preseason teams in the Big 12 (Kansas, Baylor, Oklahoma State), and teams like Georgia, Harvard, and with a program like, Elon, they won 21 games last year, so there are not many nights off on our non-conference schedule.

“We have challenged ourselves, stepped it up, and raised the bar. I would challenge anybody to find a tougher, non-conference schedule top to bottom in the preseason than the University of Colorado basketball program, and I don’t think there is one, but that’s on paper. Our players are excited about it and they want to play against great teams, great players, and we’re going to allow them the opportunity to do that.”

 

DATE OPPONENT TV Time (MST)

Key Games in Bold


Fri. Nov. 8 vs. Baylor   TBA TBA
Sun. Nov. 10 TENNESSEE-MARTIN   P12N 4:00 p.m.
Wed. Nov. 13 WYOMING   P12N 7:00 p.m.
Sat. Nov. 16 JACKSON STATE   P12N 10:00 a.m.
Mon. Nov. 18 ARKANSAS STATE   P12N 7:00 p.m.
Thur. Nov. 21 SANTA BARBARA   P12N 8:00 p.m.
Sun. Nov. 24 HARVARD   ESPNU 2:30 p.m.
Sat. Nov. 30 at Air Force   TBA TBA
Tue. Dec. 3 at Colorado State   TBA TBA
Sat. Dec. 7 KANSAS   ESPN2 1:15 p.m.
Fri. Dec. 13 ELON   P12N 6:30 p.m.
Sat. Dec. 21 vs. Oklahoma State  ESPN2 9:30 p.m.
Sat. Dec. 28 GEORGIA   P12N 8:00 p.m.


Thu. Jan. 2 *OREGON STATE   ESPNU 8:00 p.m.
Sun. Jan. 5 *OREGON   FS1 3:00 p.m.
Wed. Jan. 8 *at Washington State   P12N 7:00 p.m.
Sun. Jan. 12 *at Washington   FS1 1:00 p.m.
Thu. Jan. 16 *UCLA   P12N 6:00 p.m.
Sat. Jan. 18 *USC   FS1 4:00 p.m.
Thu. Jan. 23 *at Arizona   ESPN2 7:00 p.m.
Sat. Jan. 25 *at Arizona State   P12N 5:00 p.m.
Sat. Feb. 1 *UTAH   P12N Noon
Wed. Feb. 5 *WASHINGTON STATE   P12N 7:30 p.m.
Sun. Feb. 9 *WASHINGTON   ESPNU 6:00 p.m.
Thu. Feb. 13 *at UCLA   ESPN2 7:00 p.m.
Sun. Feb. 16 *at USC   ESPNU 6:00 p.m.
Wed. Feb. 19 *ARIZONA STATE   ESPNU 9:00 p.m.
Sat. Feb. 22 *ARIZONA   ESPN2 4 or 7:00 p.m.
Sat. Mar. 1 *at Utah   P12N Noon
Wed. Mar. 5 *at Stanford   ESPN2 7:00 p.m.
Sat. Mar. 8 *at California   P12N 4:30 p.m.

* – Conference Game

- The Baylor game will be played at the American Airlines Arena in Dallas

- The Oklahoma State game will be played at the MGM Grand Garden Arena in Las Vegas

 

Boulder will be ROCKIN on December 7th. Can’t wait.

Dick's Sporting Goods presents "Hell Week":

Tags: Colorado Basketball Colorado Buffaloes Tad Boyle